Get To Know Me – 14 Random Questions Tag

Me in Wuerzburg

 

So this tag was started, yesterday, by the beautiful and inspiring Queen Of Jet Lags, known to some as Noor, and I thought I’d just love to (kind of be honoured to) respond to her tag. I’d love for anyone reading this to post it too or write your answers in the comments. They’re fun questions to let you into snippets of my life. It’s a bundle of fun, so if you want to know a little more about moi, hop right in and see what answers I have for the questions of a jet-setting beauty.

1. If you could change your name to anything, what would it be and why?

I came back at the end and answered this last because…damn this is hard. I like Marion/Marian because I really love Robin Hood legends and feel like I’d love to be Maid Marian, I’ve always been very enthralled by every incarnation of Robin I’ve read. Along the same vein I’ve always loved the name Guinevere for its mythical, romantic connotations. There’s something so delicious and rich about those names. I also love girls names that could also be a guy’s name, I adore that androgynous ability; Thomasine (Tommi) and Robyn are my favourites.

2. If you could go back in time and give your younger self advice, what would it be and why?

Jess, you don’t suit black lipstick – at all!

3. What did you want to be when you were little?

First a vet, because I loved animals (especially my Beenie Babies) and then I realised I would need to be good at science. Then the first time I flew I decided I wanted to be an airport baggage handler… I must say, the appeal hasn’t actually waned much.

4. What do you order at Starbucks?

I don’t really go to Starbucks unless I need wifi, however if I do happen to need wifi then their Earl Grey tea is divine.

5. What’s the hardest you ever laughed?

I couldn’t even pick one moment. My friends make me laugh, my Ultimate Frisbee team (who are my friends too, I add) make me roar hysterically. My boyfriend brings out the worst damn giggles ever. There have been many good laughs. I remember being about 12 having a sleepover with my best friend at the time and she recorded me laughing full-out for eight minutes straight but I have no idea what set me off.

6. If you could play any instrument, which would it be and why?

I used to be able to play the clarinet reasonably – I’d have liked to have been able to actually play that well, I love jazz.

7. What’s your favourite thing to do when you’re upset?

There’s nothing I really like about being upset to be honest. I like if I can exercise it out of me but that doesn’t always work.

8. What’s your favourite movie?

S.W.A.T is so damn cool, it takes the biscuit.

And the Christopher Nolan Batman-s. And Marvel films. V for Vendetta.

My favourite German film is Das Leben ist Nichts fuer die Feiglinge; it was heart wrenchingly beautiful and honest.
9. What’s one food you cannot live without?

CHEESE

10.  What’s your favourite dessert?

Erm…cheese? Well okay, if not cheese then stewed blackberries and fruits of the forest, the mere thought of the taste makes my mouth water. Heaven.

11.  Favourite pizza topping?

Quattro Staggioni (Stagioni?), because you get all the bests on there, I calculate which flavour I want the most and leave that slice till last; that is bliss. Close second is anything involving spinach.

12. Would you rather have the superpower to read minds or the superpower to be invisible?

I am not a person that would cope well with either of those powers. It’s best they are both kept away from me because they would undo me. However I feel I could be distracted enough by the sheer cool-factor of being invisible that I wouldn’t use it too selfishly, so that one may turn out better in the long run.

13. What did you do for your last birthday?

I went to work (yay) and then had a beer in the sunshine in the park before sitting with my lovely German buddies in my favourite Italian restaurant in Erlangen, Tios, where we had much beer, pizza and frivolity.

14. If you had one personal “selfish” wish, what would it be and why?

To travel forever, keep travelling. But my totally selfish condition would be that no one at home ever got bored of waiting for me or became less close to me. Life doesn’t work that way though.

 

J x

Leave a Reply

